"We don't see things as they are, we see them as we are" Anais Nin

Great Interpreters: Beyond the Μusic 6 – Nick Cave

Nick Cave

nick-cave1

Australia

Henry Lee

“…Get down, get down, little Henry Lee
And stay all night with me
You won’t find a girl in this damn world
That will compare with me
And the wind did howl and the wind did blow…”


From Her to Eternity

“…Ah wanna tell ya ’bout a girl
You know, she lives in room 29…”

Mercy Seat

“…An eye for an eye
And a truth for a truth
And anyway I told the truth
And I’m not afraid to die.
And the mercy seat is waiting
And I think my head is burning
And in a way I’m yearning
To be done with all this measuring of proof…”

The Weeping Song

“…Go son, go down to the water
And see the women weeping there
Then go up into the mountains
The men, they are weeping too
This is a weeping song
A song in which to weep
While we rock ourselves to sleep
This is a weeping song
But I won’t be weeping long
…”

nick_cave_6

Leave a Reply

